Early Childhood Parent Policy Council Commits to Their Children and to CAS Programs

Email Twitter Facebook Stumble Upon Digg | More |

On Wednesday, November 16th, the 2011-2012 Early Childhood Parent Policy Council was sworn into office.  The Policy Council is made up of elected officers from each of the CAS sites which run Head Start/Early Head Start programs.  Mothers, fathers, grandparents and community members came from the Frederick Douglass Center, the East Harlem Center, PS 5, PS 8, PS 152, the Bronx Early Childhood Center, and the Drew Hamilton Learning Center.  The Policy Council is a decision making group, which allows parents and community members to play a meaningful role in determining the nature and direction of their programs.  This unique group of advocates serve as a link between program management, the sites, the CAS Board and various community partners.  The Children's Aid Society congratulates the 2011-2012 Policy Council members and thanks them for their commitment to their children, to their specific programs, and to the Agency.

Blanca Aviles,  PS 152 EHS « Member
Nicole Beatty, Community Rep « Co-Chair
Saran Dore, Bronx EC « Treasurer
Rosa Hernandez, East Harlem HS « Member
Maria Leonardo, PS 8 HS « Member
Tamika Major, Drew Hamilton « Secretary
Joshua Martinez, Frederick Douglass « Chair
Kimberly Paul, PS 5 HS « Area Rep
Elizabeth Peralta, PS8 EHS « Member
Susana Ramos, PS 152 EHS « Grievance
Jennifer Rios, PS 5 EHS « Personnel
Dianelys Tavarez, Drew Hamilton « Member
Diane Williams, Frederick Douglass « Member
Abdou Yaya, Bronx EC « By-Laws
Rosa Zurita, East Harlem EHS « Member

Photo Credits:  Ana Nunez
Pictured:  Members of the 2011-2012 CAS Early Childhood Parent Policy Council